People’s Choice Awards 2020 Results

The support from our first People’s Awards Ceremony was overwhelming… So many creatives coming together and celebrating, cheering on each other. The vibe was electric and the spirit was knitted strong in Bajan best. But yeah enough a dat, wunna want to see the results right! The awardees are highlighted in bold.

Visit here to see the official photo album with beautiful work done by Amery Butcher.

Relive the experience of the night through the words of Dev’s Edge here!

View even more images from the official Frank Collymore Hall page by visiting here.

Read the article in Barbados Today ePaper

Music Video Of The Year

Long Time Love – Krisirie
Do Ting – Grateful Co
Soca Mix – Dj Steelpan
Runaway – Ch’An
If A Bullet Could Talk – stonedwithcupid
Duppy – Amanda Reifer
Sinking Ship – Simon Pipe

Soca Artist Of The Year

Lead Pipe
Lil Rick
Jus D

Hip Hop Artist Of The Year

Island Levvy
Sevyn 47
Barri G

R&B Artist Of The Year

2 Mile Hill
Leigh Phillips
Wesu Wallace

Photographer Of The Year

Kyle Babb
Reco Moore
Andrew Browne
Kristopher Streek
Alexander Newton
Khalil Goodman
Jaryd Niles Morris

Visual Artist Of The Year

Shane Eastmond
Nikolai Charles
Safia Stoute
Jaryd Niles Morris
Annalee Davis

Rock Artist Of The Year

Vengeance Falls
Island Levvy

Reggae Artist Of The Year

Buggy Nhakente
Princi Lite
Peach Bless
Kalead & Kayaweh
Riteside A Red
Tuff I
Triple X

Gospel Artist Of The Year

Trinity Clarke
John Yarde
Neesha Woodz
Keeann Walters
Aingel Jaggernauth

Motivational Speaker Of The Year

Raphael Saul
Antonio Medford
Gigi Farier
Joel Manning
Deborah McCollin

Musician Of The Year

Juanita Clarke
Wesley Morris
Arturo Tappin
Stefan Walcott
Kweku Jelani
Jermone Waithe
Dwayne Jones

Deejay Of The Year

Surf Rat
Jus Jay
Rico Love
Soca Snypa

Fashion Designer Of The Year

Christian Gibbsby kristhun
Zone Five Clothing
Kimesha Skeete
Pauline Bellamy
Alyssa Goddard
Rhaj Paul
Jade Payne
Greg Williams
Exodus Roots Wear
Kimah Dixon

Model Of The Year

Zoe Allamby
Shanel Ifill
Shahaida Lynch

Writer Of The Year

Lashawna Griffith
Shakirah Bourne
Michelle Hinkson-Cox
Yvonne Weekes
Karen Lord
Matthew Murrell

Poet Of The Year

Adrian Green
Akeem Chandler-Prescod
Cyndi Marshall
Kerry Belgrave
Daniel Boxill

Dance Group Of The Year

Riddim Tribe
1 Movement
Of Another Nature
Dancin Africa
Barbados Dance Project
Trident Productions

Actor/Actress Of The Year

Rum & Koke
Shannon Arthur
Nakita Holder
Dy Browne
BoyGirl Productionz
Asha Elcock
Black Ogun
Patrick Foster

Culinary Artist Of The Year

The Byers Catering
Thaddeus Sealy
Damien Reid- Baobab Kitchen
Chef Glam
Jason Howard

Short Film/Series Of The Year

Queen of the Band – Aerin Prescod
Mama’s Story by Damien Pinder
Things Tough by Charlette Thomas

Theatre Production Of The Year

Matilda by Operation Triple Threat
Laff It Off
Where Is Kick? by Mustardseed
Bush Memories by BCC Theatre Arts
Cover Down Yuh Bucket by BCC Theatre Arts
What Good For The Goose
Black Ogun: Gods Of War And Steel
Sweet Badinage – Tribute To Andrea Gollop Greenidge
Sankofa: The Return Of Angel
Journey To The Last Canes

Book Of The Year

Passion the Gemini Project by Robert Gibson
R.O.G.U.E by Lashawna Griffith
Offset: The Mask Of Bimshire by Delvin Howell
I Am by N.E.C
My Fishy Stepmom by Shakirah Bourne
Nomad by Yvonne Weekes
Embodied Knowings by Sonia Williams

Favourite Social Media Personality Of The Year

Cheyne Jones
Seth Xcel
Shantal Martin @hairaconda
Dynamo Murrell
Reco Moore
Dy Browne
Gigi Farier
Antonio Medford
GA Berry Comedy

Best Place to Hear Live Music

Blakey’s Bar & Restaurant
McBride’s Music Pub
Naaman’s Rum Stop
Corkey’s Garage
The Grapevine

Best Open Mic Of The Year

Mahalia’s Corner
Open Mic Wednesdays at Naaman’s Rum Stop
Poetry Lime

Best Place To Eat Pudding & Souse

The Village Bar – Lemon Arbor
Golden Sands
Fred’s Bar In Oistins
Clamon Cherry Restaurant
De Mile Tree Sports Bar

Bashment Artist Of The Year

Porgie/Lead Pipe

Producer Of The Year

Jus Jay
Lex Luwisi
Mad Mixy
Simon Pipe
Chris Allman

Sound Engineer Of The Year

Simon Pipe
Shamar Combs
Kirk Dawson

Lighting Designer Of The Year

IGM Stage Lighting
Parhelion Stage Lighting
A&R Electrical Services

Best Upcoming Artist

Sevyn 47
Jermone Waithe
Melissa Hunte
Therese Lambert
Black Ogun

Soca Song Of The Year

Sometime – Leadpipe
Breathe – Mole
Champions Of Colour
It’s Ain’t Me – Lil Rick
Feh Sa (Fair Sa) – Hypasoundz
Push and Go Through – Marvay
Jam Down – Lil Rick

Kaiso Song Of The Year

Gathering – Peter Ram
One Song – Classic
Christmas In Crop Over – Adrian Clarke
Head Turner – Blood

Hip Hop Song Of The Year

No Regrets – Rico Maserati
M.O.M.M – Sevyn 47
Same Energy – Lex Luwisi
Like Rick – Rubytech
Keep Pushing – Barri G

R&B Song Of The Year

Good Lovin – G-Syndicate & Buggy Nhakente
Ransom – Amanda Reifer
Runaway – Ch’An
Queen – Leigh Phillips

Reggae/Dancehall Song Of The Year

Run It – 2 Mile Hill
Déjà vu – Kalead & Kayaweh
Coconut Oil – Leigh Phillips
Hot Gyal Progress – Jaeesha
Hail The King – Tuff I

Event Of The Year

Mahalia’s Corner
Bachannal Time vs The Best Of Crop Over
Torchlight Experience

Party Of The Year

Soca On The Hill
Elevate St. Tropez
Soca For Her

Activist Of The Year

Unborn Justice
Roshanna Trim
Endometriosis and PCOS
Dominique Tudor
Team Mikey Charity
Firhanna Bulbia
Ro-Ann Mohammed
Fabian Sergeant

Nominations for the People’s Choice Awards 2021 will open soon. Please check or follow us on Instagram and Facebook for more details. Nominate who you believe is having a big impact in 2020!

We encourage you to check out all the other content on New Brand is a good place to start to see the recent releases from local talent.

Some Of Our Friends

Why We Do This!

september, 2023

No Events

%d bloggers like this: